February plus Rabbit plus Blue equals Start Again

Roselyne is just back from India and has sent me her translations. I’ll post them by author. (She also has even more even more magnificent photos over on Facebook – I’ll have to look into getting a widget to display pics on this site.)

It occurs to me this is a timely return, as all the participants are just getting too busy at what we normally do, and are beginning to think, ‘Did all that even happen?’ Well, it did, and here’s some evidence.

If anyone has work you’ve not posted yet, or are unsure how to post, do send it to me, and let’s kick off the Year of the Rabbit as we ended the Month of the Otter! (As losers…)

BLUE
Arjun Chandramohan BALI

from behind a window
of my own world
colourless, i watch
people pass me by
oh, you who breathe
flash me a smile
stain my heart awake
make me chase a rainbow
half above the calm waters
that reflect an unknown sky
named in colours you dressed
i am the island you see
visit me, my love
and drink these colors
that hold me prisoner
and release my gaze
maybe then, in that union
i will dissolve
your wandering heart
with the love i seek

BLEU A L’AME
Arjun BALI

derrière une fenêtre
de mon propre monde
sans couleur
je regarde
les gens qui passent à côté de moi

oh, vous qui respirez
lancez-moi un sourire
réveillez mon cœur avec de la couleur
faites-moi poursuivre un arc en ciel
à moitié émergé des eaux calmes
reflétant un ciel inconnu
portant le nom des couleurs que tu as mises

je suis l´île que tu vois
rends-moi visite, mon amour
et bois ces couleurs
qui me gardent prisonnière

libère mon regard
peut-être qu’alors dans cette union
je dissoudrai ton cœur vagabond
avec l’amour
que je recherche

About Bill Herbert

Poet and pseudo-scholar W.N. Herbert was born in Dundee in 1961, educated there and at Oxford, where he completed his DPhil thesis on Scottish poet Hugh MacDiarmid, and now lives and works in Newcastle. He is Professor of Poetry and Creative Writing at Newcastle University, and his books are published by, among others, northern publisher Bloodaxe Books. He is also the Dundee Makar, or city laureate.
This entry was posted in Translation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

